Food Unity: Pork and Black Bean Mexican Burgers

6 Aug

Why go out for a burger when you can have a steak at home goes the old saying. Why? because sometimes nothing satisfies quite like a burger . Now I know what the saying was referring to and I am not suggesting that you start referring to your beloved as a burger, thought quite frankly I am not enamoured by being called steak either, actually lets just stay away from comparing anyone to meat products entirely so as to avoid any unsavoury punning πŸ˜‰

While staring out my window at work, so as to avoid having the look at the confusing piece of legislation in front of me again, I got to thinking about what I wanted to make on the weekend. What did I feel like I pondered and I was torn between an overwhelming desire for both Mexican and burgers. In a moment of transnational food unity I decided to make a Mexican inspired beef pattie to be paired with toppings and crusty bread to make a Mexican style burger. Aye Carumba!

The patties are a little delicate, although they do keep their shape while being cooked, but I highly recommend placing them in the fridge for an hour before cooking to allow them to firm up. The Mexican seasoning is not overwhelming or hot, but gives a hint of smoky spiciness that distinguishes this burger from other more traditional burgers. Paired with whatever toppings take your fancy, cheese and guacamole being mandatory, this feels like a seeing an old lover with new eyes.

Do you prefer steak or burgers?

 

 

Pork and Black Bean Burgers

Recipe by the Legal Tart

serves 6

  • 500 gms of Pork mince
  • 1 red onion chopped finely
  • 1 garlic clove crushed
  • 1 chilli chopped finely
  • 1 can of black beans thoroughly trained and crushed lightly with a fork
  • 2 tbsp of taco seasoning
  • 1 tbsp of chipotle tabasco
  • 1 Egg beaten lightly
  • 1 Tbsp of tomato paste
  • Salt and Pepper

 

1. Fry off the onions, chilli and garlic until the onion is soft then add the taco seasoning and stir to coat the onion mixture. Cook for approximately 2 mins. Put aside to cool

2. Add the slightly crushed black beans to the mince then add the beaten egg and the tabasco.

3. Add the onion mixture and mix with your hands until the mixture feels well combined and is starting to stick together. Season with salt and Pepper

4. Make the mixture into patties and place on a tray in the fridge for at least 1 hour.

5. Place any patties you know you don’t need to cook immediately wrapped and in a container in the freezer or fridge.

6. Cook the remaining patties for several minutes on each side remembering to turn the patties gently to avoid any risk of them breaking up.

7. Serve in a crusty bread roll with guacamole sour cream, cheese and lettuce.

 

 

13 Responses to “Food Unity: Pork and Black Bean Mexican Burgers”

  1. glamorous glutton 07/08/2012 at 6:33 am #

    I have to admit I’m more of a steak fan but that’s mainly because I find the bun too filling and the burger a bit dull. This looks great with some wonderful flavours. Perhaps I’ll make it without the bun. GG

  2. koko 07/08/2012 at 9:17 am #

    Gun to my head then I’m going for the burger. You can get some amazing burgers these days!

    • Meg@thelegaltart 07/08/2012 at 10:26 pm #

      I often crave a burger never a steak. I think that says something.

      • koko 07/08/2012 at 10:34 pm #

        Never thought of it that way, but so true!

  3. Anna @ The Littlest Anchovy 07/08/2012 at 11:36 am #

    I can’t decide whether I am a steak fan or a burger fan! With burgers, you can add all sorts of condiments and topppings and change up the filling of the pattie as you have done so very well here! If faced with a steak or this, I would pick this everytime!

    • Meg@thelegaltart 07/08/2012 at 10:25 pm #

      Thanks Anna! Yes i like all the things you can add too, sometimes i do overdo it though

  4. Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial 07/08/2012 at 5:09 pm #

    Meg, that sounds like a lovely mix of flavours! I love black beans!

  5. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 10/08/2012 at 5:32 pm #

    Mmm I love both! πŸ˜› Hehe I wonder if you could get away with calling your loved one a sausage? πŸ™‚

    • Meg@thelegaltart 12/08/2012 at 9:57 am #

      My mother tells me to stop carrying on like a pork chop so sausage is a possibility…

  6. Christina 12/08/2012 at 9:49 am #

    Mmmm…this burger sounds delicious! Wish I had one for dinner tonight! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

