Irish Soda Bread Rolls

3 Aug

In Food technology (home economics) class I distinctly remember making beer bread. Beer acted as the yeast component so the bread was easy to make. I am not sure if you can have beer in a food technology class anymore given it probably violates some education department rule, but I doubt the teachers worried about us girls secreting the beer away for later consumption given that we thought beer was for boys.

When I took the formerly sticky dough out of the oven I was delighted to find I had successfully created bread and immediately christened myself a girl genius.I insisted Mutti allow me to make some bread at home for Dad. I was sure that he would enjoy another vehicle for the consumption of beer. My memory is he wasn’t that fussed, probably preferring his beer liquid and with a foam head.

My bread skills have not improved much and although I no longer make beer bread I do on occasion make Irish soda bread. I had a hankering for some baking, but Miss Wallflower had declared cake baking verboten and so I decided I would make some soda bread instead. I usually make one large loaf, but saw this recipe for soda bread rolls and thought this may be a nice change.The only change I made to the original recipe was to use half wholemeal, half white flour. But you can of course use all white or all wholemeal. The consistency is like a cross between a savoury scone and a damper. The bread doesn’t keep that well, it is best on the day baked or the next day. But it sure fills you up and is lovely warm, with slatherings of butter

Warm Rolls

Do You bake bread?

Irish Soda Bread

Adapted from a recipe by Angela Nahas from BBC Good Food Magazine July 2012 edition

  • 1.5 cups of plain flour
  • 1.5 cups of wholemeal plain flour
  • 1 tsp cream of tartar
  • 2 tsp of bicarb soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups of buttermilk

1.  Pre heat oven to 210 degrees

2. Line  a flat baking tray

3. Put flours, cream of tartar, bicarb and salt in a large bowl

4. Make a well in the centre of the dry ingredients and pour in the buttermilk

5. Mix together. I find this easiest to do with my hands.

6. Once combined turn on to a floured surface and knead lightly for a few minutes. Remember you are not trying to activate gluten so it does not require extensive kneading.

7. Break the dough off into 6 balls and using your hands make into rough balls.

8. Place on a baking tray and bake for 15 to 20 mins. The bread should sound hollow when knocked top or bottom.

3 Responses to “Irish Soda Bread Rolls”

  1. mydearbakes 04/08/2012 at 12:45 am #

    Gosh, this looks sooo terrfic ! I’m so loving it! =D

  2. David 08/08/2012 at 12:41 am #

    These look so good and pretty simple (I hope!) – and I have some great farm-made butter for spreading….

Leave a Reply

