Food Fixations: Anglo-Asian Prawn Noodle Stir fry

16 Jul

Sometimes I get absolutely fixated on a particular food group. Usually it is chocolate or chocolate related but this time it was noodles. I simply had to have them, nothing else would do. I wandered through the grocery store, clutching a packet of noodles, wild eyed and wondering what meal I could create that would be almost instant, so as to quell the urge for noodles.

I need to start this post by saying that I have no skills when it comes to Asian cooking. I lack the patience for all the chopping and I know very little about the techniques involved. I say all of this because despite the Asian inspiration of this dish it is very much a anglo version of an otherwise Asian noodle stirfry, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t tasty

I will say that this stirfry did leave an enviable aroma in the house, I absolutely love the combination of garlic, chilli and ginger and this dish gave me my noodle fix. If you are looking for a quick noodle dish with minimal chopping and a light fresh flavour, this could be for you. I can’t promise you will transported to an exotic Asian destination while you eat it, but you will feel immense relief at satisfying your food fixation.

Do you get fixated on certain foods?

Anglo Asian Prawn and Noodle Stirfry

Serves 2

  • 200gms of rice noodles
  • 1 chilli finely sliced
  • 2 cm length of ginger peeled and finely sliced
  • 2 cloves of garlic minced
  • 150 gms of green prawns peeled
  • 1 carrot finely chopped into battons
  • Small bunch of  brocollini chopped into 3 pieces
  • 3 tablespoons of soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons of fish sauce
  • 2 tablespoons of lime juice
  • 2 tsp of brown sugar

 

1.Cover the rice noodles with boiling water and leave to steep

2. Combine the sauces, lime juice and brown sugar in a bowl and set aside.

3. Steam brocollini for 5 mins or until starting to become tender.

4. Put some oil in a wok and heat until very hot and then throw in your carrots garlic, ginger and chilli, fry off for a few minutes.

5. Add the prawns and fry for a few minutes until starting to turn pink.

6. Add the sauce mixture and turn down the heat.

7. Drain the rice noodles reserving a ½ cup of the steeping liquid then add noodles to the wok along with the broccollini and toss to combine. Add some of the water if it looks dry.

 

 

One Response to “Food Fixations: Anglo-Asian Prawn Noodle Stir fry”

  1. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 18/07/2012 at 1:18 pm #

    I hear you about food fixations! I’m currently fixated on hummus. I can’t get enough of it!

Leave a Reply

