Adventures in Eggs: SMASH the musical and Creamy Smoked Trout Pasta.

27 Jun

I am not a huge watcher of TV. I often have it on while I am at home, but if you asked me what I watched last night I would probably not be able to tell you. I have a few exceptions such as my beloved Mad Men. More recently I have become completely addicted to the TV series Smash, it is currently playing on Foxtel (as reruns and I am watching it again). It is a fictional series following the creation of a Broadway musical about Marilyn Monroe. It combines some of my favourite things……. show tunes, the theatrics of people in the arts and old Hollywood starlets.

I love musicals. In another life I was a dancer and as a result I know far too many show tunes and as previously disclosed have a tendency to shimmy in public places when I like the music. When I was a kid there was always a hand or foot practising steps and routines even while pushing the shopping trolley.

We record Smash in our house and usually save it for a Friday night, when Miss Wallflower and I sit down with our Friday night fishbowl of wine and watch it. I confess sometimes there are excited squeals as it starts and often we gasp in theatrical horror at the back stabbing of our favourite characters. Given that Smash has such an elevated position in our watching repertoire, I thought it was only appropriate that I create a special meal for it. This pasta was gorgeous… Miss Wallflower had seconds! The smokiness is balanced by the creaminess and the snow peas add crunch. This was also a way to use up some of those eggs I had accumulated. Lights, Camera, Action!

Do you have a favourite musical?

What to eat while singing along to a showtune!

Creamy Smoked Trout Pasta

Adapted from Ultimate Pasta by Delicious

  • 200 gms penne
  • 100 gms hot smoked trout
  • 2 eggs and 1 yolk
  • 100 mls of thickened cream
  • Large handful of grated parmesan
  • 100 gms of snow peas sliced in half
  • 1 Garlic clove crushed
  • Chives chopped
  • Olive oil
  • Squeeze of lemon juice

1. Boil penne in salted water.

2. While penne is boiling combine eggs cream and parmesan in a bowl and beat until combined

3. Heat a small amount of oil in a pan over medium heat and add snow peas and garlic. Heat until snowpeas are slightly softened and garlic is aromatic.

4. Remove half a cup of pasta water from the boiling pot and then drain the pasta, return the pasta to the dry pot.

5. Flake in the trout and then add the pasta water and egg mixture, tossing the pasta continuously as you add the eggs so they don’t scramble.

6. Toss in the snow peas and garlic.

7. Serve with some chopped chives and a squeeze of lemon.

5 Responses to “Adventures in Eggs: SMASH the musical and Creamy Smoked Trout Pasta.”

  1. Karlheinz 27/06/2012 at 3:23 pm #

    sounds delicious,i may have to cook this one -handed as i have broken my right humerus (not funny)

  2. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 28/06/2012 at 6:42 pm #

    I almost wish that I wasn’t such a huge lover of tv but I’m crazy about it! 😛 And I will definitely have to check out Smash now! Love Mad Men too 😉

    • Meg@thelegaltart 28/06/2012 at 7:53 pm #

      Definately check it out. You will be singing the showtunes in no time!

  3. glamorous glutton 30/06/2012 at 1:25 am #

    I love Mad Men, it’s such a great look back at the 60s. I don’t go to many musicals, I must admit. But I love the really old ones. South pacific, Porgy and Bess and my favourite of all A Chorus Line. GG

Leave a Reply

