Accompaniment to a Lazy Sunday: Fig, Brandy and Cinnamon Jam

5 Jun

Sunday afternoons at home has to be my favourite time. I love just taking some time out from chores, seeing people and doing things and savouring those last few hours of the weekend. For me this usually means a cheese platter with a glass of wine or if I am feeling particularly naughty, a cocktail 🙂

I do love a good selection of cheeses. Triple cream brie is pretty high up there in the list of things I must have on a cheese platter and a good blue, Stilton or something that is bitey. I usually have some sort of fruit or a quince paste. The sweet and sharp against the salty tanginess of a blue and the luscious creaminess of a brie, is just heavenly. For this reason after handing in my last paper of the semester on Friday (Hallelujah!) I decided this week I would make a fig jam to have with my cheese platter.I love figs and rather than rely on fresh ones I wanted to use dried figs so I could be safe in the knowledge that I could make a sweet accompaniment to my Sunday cheese platter any time of year.

I only halved the figs, in future I would quarter them. They hold their shape quite well and while I love a chunk of fig in the jam, sometimes it really throws out my cheese to jam ratio, and no one wants that. Don’t be concerned about the brandy, it is not overwhelming and simply adds a warmth and depth to the jam that stops it being overly sweet

Sunday afternoon

Be warned this is an extremely sticky and thick preserve, it is completely moreish and we have finished a 1/3 of the jar in our house in the space of a few days I also suspect this jam would be great on scones which I have no doubt I will be forced to make shortly, for the purposes of research and testing obviously 😉

How do you unwind on Sundays?

Fig, Brandy and Cinnamon Jam

2 small jars

  • 1 1/2 cups of sugar
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 1/2 cup of brandy
  • 1 packet of dried figs or about 20 dried figs stems removed and quartered
  • 1/2 apple peeled and diced
  • rind of half a lemon
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 cinnamon stick

 

1. Heat sugar, brandy and water in a pan on medium to high heat until it has dissolved. Do not stir simply swirl occasionally to ensure that it dissolves evenly

2. Add the apple, figs, lemon rind, lemon juice and cinnamon stick to the mixture and bring to the boil and then reduce to a simmer. Stir occasionally.

3. Simmer for approximately 1 1/2 to 2 hours. Remove cinnamon about 1/2 way through the cooking time, if you like a more aromatic flavour you can leave it in for the full cooking time. The apple should have completely broken down and only some of the fig pieces will maintain some shape.

4. Place in sterilized jars and refrigerate after opening.

 

7 Responses to “Accompaniment to a Lazy Sunday: Fig, Brandy and Cinnamon Jam”

  1. Tandy 05/06/2012 at 10:34 pm #

    Perfect for cheese for sure 🙂

  2. Becca's Green Kitchen 06/06/2012 at 2:44 am #

    This looks amazing! Thanks for sharing. I’m glad I found this on here – your blog is great.:)

  3. susartandfood 06/06/2012 at 10:27 pm #

    Making me hungry.

  4. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 07/06/2012 at 9:06 am #

    The stickiness of this jam is perfect for a cheese platter I think. It reminds me of those sticky, soft figs that I love with cheese! 😀

Leave a Reply

