Planning and Procrastination: Raspberry Lemon and White Chocolate Slice

30 May

I am in the final year of my Masters degree in Law and despite the fact that I have only had 1 subject to do this semester I have absolutely no motivation. In the beginning my motivation for doing my Masters was all about creating opportunities in case I ever wanted to seize the moment. I have never been a great planner of things in life, I never planned to be a lawyer and although I have dabbled in creating 5 year plans in my early twenties, a 5 day meal plan is about the best I can manage now. However when I know something needs to be done I unexpectedly become an excellent planner, I go about radically setting new goals and finding new motivation. I suddenly gather the focus and determination  to spend 2 hours googling lipstick colours while in my pj’s. A potentially crucial step on the path to my new goal of being an expert at retro make up techniques….. True none of this is may lead to a distinction on my criminology essay, but maybe I will find that elusive plum lipstick that you can wear from day to night. Lets be honest isn’t that an equally noble goal 🙂

Knowing that in good conscience I can’t leave the house because I should be chained to my laptop writing another 1000 words on the challenges of the adversarial system (yawn),  I try and find distractions within the home and at some point even I know I have to be cut off from my new googling addiction. So I bake.

I found this Recipe for Blueberry and Lemon Brownies a while ago on Strawberry Ginger, a blog I nominated for the Kreativ blogger award. Having undertaken to really hammer out some of my essay and then go to the shop for the blueberries the recipe required,  I then threw myself into 2 hours of research……this time on platform shoes…..so I never made it to the shops. Instead I improvised and thereby altered the recipe slightly using what I could find within my house. The alterations are as follows

  • frozen raspberries (not thawed),
  • doubled the zest content ( I like a lot of lemon)
  • white chocolate chips added to the mixture instead of creating a drizzle (just pure laziness on my part)

This was a really nice slice and I will make it again but probably double the quantities because too much of a good thing is never enough. Miss Meat had seconds every time she had a piece because apparently she felt it wasn’t so overpoweringly sweet that it required self restraint.

At least i have something to show for my web surfing!

How do you procrastinate? Are you a planner?

3 Responses to “Planning and Procrastination: Raspberry Lemon and White Chocolate Slice”

  1. Tandy 31/05/2012 at 11:32 pm #

    If this is the result keep on procrastinating 🙂

  2. strawberryginger 31/10/2012 at 4:11 am #

    Thanks so much for the pingback!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

