Adventures in Eggs: Smoked Trout Omelette

21 May

This is not really a recipe that requires a post but it does make a fairly regular appearance in my weekly menu plans usually on a Tuesday night when leftovers from the weekend are used up and my mind is still plagued by that beginning of the week brain fog.

I make an omelette with more variations that I can think of and it is a useful way to use up some eggs, which as previously mentioned I currently have in plentiful supply.  You can of course use cream, I don’t, not out of any desire to avoid the extra fat but rather just because I like my omelette a bit more light. Sometimes I add a teaspoon of good pesto for a different flavour or even left over roast veges. I suppose this may not be traditionally considered an omelette as I don’t flip it, but on a Tuesday night who has the dexterity to manage that!

Do you suffer from beginning of the week fog?

Smoked Trout, Baby Spinach and Fetta Omelette

Serves 1

  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tablespoons of milk
  • 50 gms smoked trout torn
  • 2 large mushrooms sliced
  • Handful of baby spinach
  • 25 gms of fetta crumbled

1. Heat frypan with 1 tsp of butter and 1 tbsp of oil on high.

2. Crack 2 eggs into a bowl and add milk whisk until combined

Light Golden Colour

3, Add eggs to the pan and then add sliced mushrooms. Turn the heat down to low

4. Lift the sides of the omelette away from the pan and scrape into the middle allowing the eggy fluid to spill out over the edges into the hot pan ( this makes it easier to remove from the pan in my experience and produces a fluffy edge)

5. Strew the smoked trout into the egg mixture and then top with fetta.

Edges slightly fluffy

6. When the fetta has melted slightly add the baby spinach and gently press into the omelette so that some parts of the spinach are covered in some of the eggy liquid.

7. Pop under a grill for a few minutes until set on top. Fold the Omelette in half and serve by itself or with hot buttered bread.

7 Responses to “Adventures in Eggs: Smoked Trout Omelette”

  1. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 22/05/2012 at 4:28 pm #

    I’m with you Meg, sometimes an omelette is the perfect dinner! Love how you made it that much better with ocean trout! 😀

    • thelegaltart 23/05/2012 at 8:31 am #

      Sometimes an omlette every night seems like the way to go!

  2. Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial 23/05/2012 at 7:02 am #

    Now this is the perfect recipe for us! We have our own eggs, and our neighbour dropped down a home smoked rainbow trout just the other day! Thanks Meg! 🙂

  3. Malou 26/05/2012 at 2:40 am #

    Yummy! I would love to eat this with rice too. 😉

    • thelegaltart 26/05/2012 at 10:10 am #

      I had never thought of having it with rice. Idea for next time!

  4. Tandy 28/05/2012 at 5:23 pm #

    I really need to expand my omelet ingredients, thanks for the inspiration 🙂

Leave a Reply

