Sunday Roast: Roast Chicken with Caramalised Verjus and Figs

6 Mar

Hello my lovelies! I apologise for not posting sooner, my internet connection and I have not been getting on. But all seems well today. 🙂

Miss Meat and I were discussing our childhood eating habits the other day. Despite now being a vegetarian, Miss Meat was not a lover of vegetables when she was a kid and only ate a very limited variety. She was not a great lover of meat or fish either, though she didn’t need much encouragement when it came to sausage rolls 🙂

I on the other hand didn’t have too many issues with veges. Yes, to this day I am not a great fan of peas, although I will eat them, but generally I have never had a vegetable aversion. For me the main food issues I had, besides the food touching ones, was with meat, particularly anything that came on the bone or roasted. I used to dread the weekend roast. I would happily help myself to no end of vegetables but would always try and find the smallest slice of meat to place on my plate. As if to annoy Mutti more with my meat fussiness, on the odd occasion she served us steak and despite her best efforts, I could always find the one part of marbled fat in the steak. I would cut it away along with half the beef and put it to the side of my plate in disgust, We actually have a photo of me at Christmas surveying ham and turkey with my bottom lip stuck out so far in protest I am surprised it ever returned to a normal shape again.

I still can’t get myself to be a great lover of meat, but I have started to do a roast chook on the occasional weekend. Not only is it nice to smell it cooking in the house, but it makes for perfect leftovers to add to lunches during the week.

Bronzed Beauty

Last week I made a roast chook utilising some Caramelised Ver Jus I bought at Orange Mountain Wines and some figs. They had punnets of figs at the supermarket for some ridiculously cheap price and even though it wasn’t on my list I bought a punnet assuring myself I would make something with them and they wouldn’t go to waste. At the end of the week I still had some figs left, so I decided to add them to the roast chicken and see what would happen. Turns out that roasted figs are just to die for, they become soft and aromatic during roasting and the juice they leak into the pan combines with the chickeny pan juices to make a lovely sauce. Served with a side of sweet potato mash and asparagus and accompanied by a bottle of red, it proved a very civilised way to pass Sunday evening.

Were you a fussy eater as a child?

Roast Chicken with Caramelised Verjus and Figs

Serves 4

  • 1.6 kg chicken
  • 2 tablespoons of Caramelized Verjus
  • 4-6 Figs Whole
  • One onion sliced
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 1 sprig Rosemary
  • Olive oil

1. Slice and onion and place it on the bottom of a baking dish. This will act as the base for your chicken to rest on

2. Rinse the chiken and pat dry inside and out

3. Bruch on Caramelised Verjus and then rub in olive oil. Season with salt and pepper.

4. Place Chick breast side down on the onions and rosemary to the baking dish.

5. Place chicken in a 200 dgree oven. The chicken needs approximately 20 mins for every 500 gms.

6. When half way through the cooking time turn the chicken over and add the figs to the roasting dish around the chicken.

7. Finish cooking time being sure to cover the chicken if the skin becomes to brown.

8. Serve the chicken with pan juices poured on top or reduce the pan juice and add some cornflour to make a gravy.

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Sunday Roast: Roast Chicken with Caramalised Verjus and Figs”

  1. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 07/03/2012 at 10:08 am #

    That is perfect for this weather Meg! And you’re right, roast chicken is a great meat to start with. My vegan brother in law loves the smell of it (of course he won’t eat it) but it’s definitely a delicious meat 🙂

  2. thebigfatnoodle 07/03/2012 at 10:29 am #

    I’m with you on the peas, I’m not a fan either. I’ve only recently started eating digs and would never have thought of cooking with them. This sounds and looks amazing!

  3. theincurablelibertine 07/03/2012 at 12:52 pm #

    oh wow this sounds AMAZING…..i think roast chicken is my absolute favourite meat dish, the smell of it is so enticing and it always tastes so good!!! you’ve got me salivating in my morning tea!

  4. Glamorous Glutton 07/03/2012 at 10:36 pm #

    I hated meat as a child. I would eat any kind of vegetable and shellfish, which unfortunately I’m now allergic to. Any way I would go through the same theatrics as you to get out of eating all meat even putting it in my pocket URGH! Great idea to put the figs with the chicken. I’ll have to give this a go it looks delicious. GG

  5. susartandfood 08/03/2012 at 5:14 am #

    Oooh, my other half would love this. I’ll give it a try!~

  6. susartandfood 28/03/2012 at 1:20 am #

    Just wanted to let you know I’ve given you The Kreativ Blogger Award. Please visit my website later this morning for details. 🙂 http://www.susartandfood.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

