Sweets for my Sweet: Chocolate and Raspberry Cupcakes with Pink Frosting

12 Feb

I know a lot of people despise Valentine’s Day as some commercial beat up, requiring you to buy overpriced, poorly thought out presents for your significant other. But I have to admit that I kind of like Valentine’s Day.

When I was a kid my dad always bought my mum a big bunch of flowers and I always got a single red rose in a plastic tube. I loved it! 🙂 I felt so grown up. Mutti also used to buy us kids little chocolates for Valentine’s Day. So for me, Valentines Day was never something people did only for a romantic partner, but rather just a day where you exploited the opportunity to show the people in your life you loved them.

Now I am a person who loves a reason to do something special and create a little moment, be it Christmas, a birthday or a job promotion, there is a little special moment that can be created in celebrating all of these things. It doesn’t have to be fancy, but why not celebrate the end of exams with apple pie and ice cream!

I can’t say that the men in my life have felt the same. A few days before Valentine’s Day the conversation usually goes like this.

Him “So do you like.. celebrate Valentine’s Day?’

Me “What do you mean celebrate?’

Him “You know.. do you like to do something special, specifically for Valentine’s Day?’

Me “I always like doing something special”

Now at this point you would have thought they would have just erred on the side of caution and organised something and stopped asking questions…particularly because they had consumed more than their portion of the end of exam pie, not that I am keeping track 😉 No their questions continue…

Him “I mean… like will I get in to trouble if I don’t do something? I don’t care so I won’t do anything unless you want me to’

Me “I don’t want you to do something that you don’t want to do, and you won’t get in to trouble. It is up to you”

Now I know this might sound annoyingly like I won’t give a straight answer, but what I have said is completely true. Valentine’s Day to me should not be some forced mushy fest where presents are begrudgingly bought because you have to. I like to take part in it because I can show people I care and have an excuse to eat sweets!

Sweet treats for those who sweeten your life!

I don’t like the tacky gifts that are for sale on Valentine’s Day, although I would love a bunch of lemon roses….anyone?! So I usually make something for loved ones. These cupcakes are the perfect sweet addition to any day.  They are beautiful to look at and I found some very  appropriate little candy hearts to top them with. Most importantly they are beautiful to eat. You would have to feel loved just consuming them.

Do you celebrate Valentines Day?

Chocolate and Raspberry Cupcakes with Pink Buttercream Frosting

Makes 6-8

Cupcakes

Adapted from 1001 Cupcakes, Cookies and other Tempting treats

  • 85 grams of unsalted butter
  • 85 grams of caster sugar
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 70 gms of plain flour
  • 1 tsp of baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon of bi carbonate
  • 1 tbsp of cocoa
  • Raspberry jam

1. Cream together sugar and butter and the vanilla extract, until fluffy

2. Add eggs one at a time allowing the first to be incorporated into the mixture before you add the second one.

3. Sift in flour, cocoa, bicarbonate and baking powder and mix to combine

4. Spoon mixture into the lined cupcake tray

5. Bake in oven for 20 mins or until skewer comes out clean and the top of the cake is springy to the touch

6. Allow to cool completely.

7. Then using a small serrated knife cut a small disc about 1-2 cm deep into the cupcake.

8. Fill with raspberry jam but be careful not to overfill as the cut out lid needs to be placed back on top.

Frosting

  • 200 gms of unsalted butter
  • 1 tbsp of milk
  • 250 gms of icing mixture (or enough to get desired consistency and sweetness)
  • 2 drops of Rose pink food colouring

1. Cream together butter and milk until fluffy

2. Add colouring, add more if you want a more intense colour

3. Add sifted icing mixture and beat until combined.

4. Spread or pipe on top of cooled and jam filled cupcakes.

4 Responses to “Sweets for my Sweet: Chocolate and Raspberry Cupcakes with Pink Frosting”

  1. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 13/02/2012 at 3:54 pm #

    Aww how cute that you got your own rose! I don’t think my parents did anything-not that I could remember anyway! 😛 But I still like to celebrate it 🙂

  2. susartandfood 15/02/2012 at 8:25 am #

    How pretty. Please mail one asap. Will provide address 🙂

    • thelegaltart 15/02/2012 at 7:05 pm #

      🙂 Unfortunately they were snaffled pretty quickly!

  3. Choc Chip Uru 29/03/2012 at 8:57 pm #

    These are too perfect – how adorable, cute and delicious 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Maple Raisin Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

