Quickie Dinners: Pasta with Peas and Pancetta

30 Jan

Sometimes you want a quick dinner made from things you have in the fridge. Pancetta may not be something everyone keeps in their fridge, so you could of course substitute ham, speck or bacon. I had some cream left over from some dessert I made and  despite my dislike for peas, I usually have some of them in my freezer. I must admit that there is always white wine open in my house and using it in food ensures I don’t just drink it while unwinding after a hard day. You could just use stock or water, but the end result will be a little thinner in flavour. Plus how better to justify having a glass while you cook!

Fast, Filling and Tasty

This isn’t a fancy meal but it is tasty, filling and fast.

What is your favourite quick dinner meal?

Pasta with Peas and Pancetta

Serves 1

  • Small shell pasta enough for one
  • 1/2 diced  onion
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 3 slices of pancetta sliced
  • 1/2 cup of baby peas
  • 1/3 cup white wine ( I use chardonnay my tipple of choice)
  • 1/4 cup cream

1. Bring water to boil in pan and add pasta

2. Heat  small amount of olive oil in pan and add dice onion. Cook for 1 minute

3. Add pancetta and cook for a further 2 minutes before adding garlic. Cook for a further minute

4. Add wine and deglaze the pan scraping at any bits stuck to the bottom of the pan, reduce until half the liquid is left.

5. Add peas and stir in until tender

6. Take 1/2 cup of water from the boiling pasta pot and put aside.

7. Take pan off the heat and turn off the hob and add cream stirring in to the other ingredients.

8. Drain pasta.

9. Place the sauce pan back on the previously used warm hob, add the pasta and enough water to create a sauce that coats the pasta.

10. Serve with parmesan.

 

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Quickie Dinners: Pasta with Peas and Pancetta”

  1. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 31/01/2012 at 3:10 pm #

    This looks great! I think we all need quick and easy dinners like this 😀

    • thelegaltart 01/02/2012 at 7:18 am #

      Yes definately, lack of time doesn’t mean you should have to go without

  2. theincurablelibertine 03/02/2012 at 2:32 pm #

    yum looks delicious! i can’t wait to try this one!

  3. Anna @ the shady pine 03/02/2012 at 7:24 pm #

    Quickie dinners are the best and I like the look of the pasta. Think my favourite quick dinner is an omelette filled with whatever is on hand at the time.

    • thelegaltart 04/02/2012 at 10:50 am #

      I love an omelette too. It is a great way to use leftovers

  4. Vanesther 15/03/2012 at 4:42 am #

    Cooked this last night and it was gorgeous. Very quick and very tasty. I added a few chestnut mushrooms as we happened to have a few in the fridge which needed using up, but otherwise stuck to you recipe. Thanks for posting!

    • thelegaltart 15/03/2012 at 7:04 am #

      Glad you enjoyed it. Love the idea of the mushrooms.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Meal plan: 18 March 2012 (and how to poach eggs) « Bangers & Mash - 19/03/2012

    […] on my meal plans as a quick mid-week meal when my husband and I are both working. I tried this pasta, peas and pancetta dish from the Legal Tart, and highly recommend it. It’s very easy and very tasty. Pasta with peas […]

Leave a Reply

