Zucchini Flower Salad with Avocado and Tomatoes: A cure for Christmas excess.

9 Jan

After Christmas the amount of diet ads saturating the television and magazines is astounding. Anything from dropping  2 dress sizes in 21 days to losing 5 kilos in 2 weeks. I can’t pretend that I am completely impervious to the fabulous promises, accompanied by pictures of glamorous stars, but I know that my motivator is largely guilt rather than health. Regardless of how hard I try I have a love/ hate relationship with both my appetite and my arse. I love food and those  suggested meals of brown rice and tinned tuna fill me with such horror, that I think I would prefer just to give up on life completely rather than endure them. But I accept that after the excesses of Christmas I need to retrain myself. This is a difficult balancing act, seeing flavour filled nourishing and beautifully presented food, just sets my heart a flutter and brown rice leaves me depressed.

What concerns me most about these post-Christmas detoxes and diets is that they make an enemy of food. While squeezing into my skirt on the first day of work after the Christmas break, I did consider that Camembert might be my enemy, but really I know that while I might sometimes curse its creamy oozy goodness, spread on a water cracker and topped with sweet quince paste, Camembert is not the enemy, although I might need a moment to compose myself before I go on 😉

In the spirit of good food, packed with flavour but also inspiring I present the following salad.

Colour and flavour on a plate

I am generally a bit dismissive of salad, but when I saw these zucchini flowers at just $3.99 for 8, I just knew I couldn’t go past them. I love zucchini flowers but I never make them. This was a perfect opportunity. I used my loved Lolli Redini Salad dressing but you could use any dressing or just balsamic or vino cotto. It is lovely with a glass of white wine (Just the one!).

Zucchini Flower Salad with Tomato and Avocado

Serves 1

  • 3 zucchini flowers
  • Handful of baby spinach leaves
  • 1 tomato
  • 1/4 avocado
  • 1.5 Tbsp of Light Ricotta
  • Basil
  • Spring onions
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Salad Dressing.

1. Slice 1 tomato into medium slices.

2. Slice spring onion and add to bowl with tomatoes. Toss with salad dressing

3. Mix ricotta with sliced basil, salt and pepper

4. Take the stamen out of the zucchini flowers be careful not to break the flower. Stuff the flowers with ricotta mixture and twist to contain the ricotta.

5. Place into a hot pan and place a lid on them cook over medium heat until tender turning once.

6. Toss the spinach leaves into the tomatoes and then place tomatoes and spinach on a plate.

7. Slice a quarter of an avocado and place on top of the tomato salad.

8. Place warm zucchini flowers on top and spoon over some remaining dressing.

11 Responses to “Zucchini Flower Salad with Avocado and Tomatoes: A cure for Christmas excess.”

  1. Daily Dose of Fresh 09/01/2012 at 8:46 pm #

    Never had Zucchini flowers before, they always looks so pretty on the plate. Better add that to “to try” list.

  2. veghotpot 09/01/2012 at 8:57 pm #

    This looks delicious and fresh 🙂 I haven’t tried zuccini flowers before but Im hoping to grow some this year so will definitely make sure I pick the flowers!

    • thelegaltart 09/01/2012 at 9:35 pm #

      I would love to grow them but I don’t have the space.

  3. Tandy 10/01/2012 at 2:55 am #

    I love zucchini flowers – and I think red wine is my enemy, or maybe all the biscuits I ate 🙂

    • thelegaltart 10/01/2012 at 7:02 am #

      Don’t tell me about biscuits. We have another kg to eat after Christmas!

  4. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 11/01/2012 at 5:52 pm #

    Iv’e always had them deep fried but I like the idea of having them like this, because I could do with less calories! 😛

  5. Mel 12/01/2012 at 3:56 pm #

    That dish looks so pretty, Meg! Mmmm… and yes I hear you on the (trials of the) balancing act!

  6. theincurablelibertine 19/01/2012 at 10:45 am #

    that looks delicious! i’ve never been able to find zucchini flowers…i hope i can soon! i have grand dreams of stuffed with cheese and anchovies.

Leave a Reply

