Picasso and Lunch: Chophouse

5 Jan

A trip out of the house over the Christmas period was required to ensure that I didn’t turn into a book reading, champagne sipping hermit. Not that there is anything wrong with that. An outing to see the Picasso exhibition currently showing at the Art Gallery of NSW, followed by lunch seemed like an enjoyable way to spend a day and a change from my slothful pace.

After an hour of looking at Picasso paintings with my head on tilted angles while squinting hoping that like a magic eye, the picture would jump out at me, I was starving and ready for lunch.

We had picked Chophouse and although I was feeling really over meat (way too much turkey and ham over the Christmas period) I needn’t have been concerned about the menu choices.

When we arrived, we were greeted by a waiter dashing outside with some lovely looking meals. Shortly after we were approached and told that the table outside we had requested would be available in a few minutes and so we ordered a drink and sat at the bar. The inside of the restaurant is rather cavernous with moody lighting and high ceilings. I noticed that most of the seating inside tended to be booths. I don’t know why but I love booths at a restaurant, I don’t know if it is because it reminds me of childhood dinners at pizzerias or because it seems like clandestine meetings could be going on and I am intrinsically nosy.

The wait staff were very friendly and explained the specials and answered all our questions, they seemed very well informed and happy to help. I ordered the octopus salad with a pomegranate dressing and a side of shoe string fries. You didn’t honestly think I would just eat a salad! 🙂

Salad $19.50

The octopus was tender and perfectly paired with the haloumi,watercress and smoky eggplant. The haloumi added just the right amount of saltiness without be overpowering. The pomegranate dressing was light and tart and I made sure I located all the seeds because I love that little juicy pop when you bite in to them.

Dad had the kangaroo burger with chunky chips. The burger wasn’t overly large which was good, if you are looking for a filling but not overwhelming lunch. I got to try some of the burger and the kangaroo pattie was juicy with a tangy aioli and a soft bread roll.

Kangaroo Burger $18.90

The shoe string fries I had as a side were crispy, with just the right amount of salt. They were not oily and I found myself picking at them long after I was full.

The chunky chips served with the burger needed a bit more salt, but were light and fluffy on the inside and crispy on the outside just the way they should be.

I did eye off a gruyere cauliflower gratin and some risotto balls that I would have loved to try, but given that I was trying to reign in the excesses of Christmas over consumption, the less is more philosophy of ordering food was imposed.

Are you a shoestring fry fan or a chunky chip fan?

Chophouse

25 Bligh St, Sydney 2000

Ph: 1300 246 748

4 Responses to “Picasso and Lunch: Chophouse”

  1. Karlheinz 05/01/2012 at 9:10 pm #

    definitely chunky,or better still,wedges!

  2. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 09/01/2012 at 6:21 pm #

    Meg I feel the same way about meat at the moment-we’ve had so much ever since Christmas!

  3. Mel 12/01/2012 at 3:58 pm #

    I found myself tilting my head a lot when I went to see the Picasso Museum in Spain last year, too. That man’s art is befuddling! I still like it, though.

    What does kangaroo meat taste like?

    With fries, I like them very thin and stringy when cold, and big and chunky when hot. Strange I know!

Leave a Reply

