Bondage, Butter and Ham: A Christmas Tale

31 Dec

Hello Readers!

I have been enjoying a few days off work and blogging and indulging in the Christmas Festivities. Here is a brief run down on how I have spent the last week.

The Christmas season commenced as it always does with me fondling a duck on Christmas eve. Once I had massaged the duck with butter and seasoning, I trussed the duck with such precision and overt delight, that my father who was observing me in the kitchen renamed me the S&M Queen. I am pretty sure I have shoes to go with that new title!

My Motto that butter makes everything taste better was proven to be correct again, with dinner one evening being thick steaks topped with a Parisienne butter prepared by Mutti. It was delicious! I will be making this butter next time I have steak.

The steak  was served as a break from leftovers. Once again the true miracle of Christmas is not the Virgin Birth, but rather that no matter how small the ham, you are still eating it on Australia day.

I got some lovely cook books, including an encyclopedia of food knowledge from the Culinary Institute of America and a cute new Apron.

Now it is all about the New Years and the challenges ahead. I am looking forward to discovering new recipes, making new foods and continuing my blogging adventure. But first we have to get rid of the Christmas leftovers.

What did you get for Christmas?

Happy 2012!

3 Responses to “Bondage, Butter and Ham: A Christmas Tale”

  1. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 01/01/2012 at 6:31 pm #

    haha oh yes the way we work that meat (in particular some stuffed birds) definitely has a bondage element to it! I hope you had a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year Meg! May 2012 be a brilliant year for you 😀

  2. Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge 03/01/2012 at 5:11 am #

    Fun post 🙂 HAPPY NEW YEAR 🙂

    I also was given a cookbook that I will be sharing shortly!!

  3. Mel 03/01/2012 at 7:18 pm #

    Duck! And ham, cookbooks, apron! Mmm all sound delightful. Merry new year, Meg! Look forward to reading more about your culinary adventures in the coming months 🙂

Leave a Reply

