Saucy dinners: Moroccon Beef, Fig and Honey Pie

28 Nov

Some times a girl needs a pie. In my opinion a good pie shares many similarities with a good man. Both should be saucy and rich and leave you feeling indulged and contented. However a pie also needs a good flaky pastry exterior.  Where as a man with a flaky exterior is best avoided and should probably see a dermatologist.

With my mind on all things rich and saucy and a strong desire for comfort food given the wild and woolly weather, I decided to make a Moroccan themed pie. I do not pretend that there is anything particularly Moroccan about puff pastry. I can not claim much authenticity with this recipe at all, except to say I was inspired by some of my favourite Moroccon tagines. What I can tell you is that the aroma and flavour in this pie was bliss. The filling of the pie was slow cooked over a number of hours, in my beloved Aubergine coloured, Emile Henri Tagine, though a heavy based  pot will do just as well. The meat was fall apart tender and it had a richness and depth of aromatic flavour, that is one of the things I so love about Moroccan cooking. The combination of sweet and savoury is just delightful.

You could serve this with cous cous as a more traditional tagine meal. All i can say is however you serve it, you will be glad for the aromas in your house and the satisfaction in your belly.

What is your favourite type of pie?

Moroccan Beef, Fig and Honey  Pie

serves 4 -6

  • 500 gms diced casserole beef
  • 1 capsicum
  • 500 ml of chicken stock
  • 1 tbsp of plain flour
  • 2 tsp Ras el Hanout spice
  • Cinnamon stick
  • 2 tsp of chilli flakes
  • 1 Onion
  • 4 cloves of garlic smashed
  • ½ cup of sliced figs
  • 2 tbsp of honey
  • 1 sheet of puff pastry cut to fit dish
  • Season to taste

 

1. Place diced beef flour and Ras el Hanout spice in a freezer bag,  shake until all meat is coated.

2. Place pot or tagine on a stove and heat 1 tbsp of oil . Add sliced onion and smashed garlic, heat until softened.

3. Add meat and brown on all sides until spices are fragrant. Add chilli flakes

4. Add sliced capsicum and then pour over chicken stock until just covered. Add 1 stick of cinnamon

5. Place covered pot in oven on 150 degrees. Cook for 2.5 hours, check after 2 hours and add figs and honey, cook  until meat is tender  and falling apart and sauce is thickened.

6. Remove from oven and allow to cool slightly. Pour slightly cooled meat mixture into pie dish

7. Cover with a puff pastry lid. Ensure that you cut a slit into the lid to allow the steam to escape.

8. Bake in moderate oven for 20 mins or until pastry is puffed and golden.

 

 

6 Responses to “Saucy dinners: Moroccon Beef, Fig and Honey Pie”

  1. Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial 29/11/2011 at 4:39 pm #

    Meg, that looks and sounds delicious! I know exactly what you mean about pie, sometimes just the idea of pie worms it way into my head and won’t leave me alone until I’ve had my fill of it.

    And oh how I love my Emile Henry tagine – mine is red, but I have other pots in the aubergine, and the colour is amazing. They’re so beautiful that sometimes I just get them out and admire them!

  2. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 30/11/2011 at 11:14 am #

    I couldn’t agree more with your description of the pie and the man! And this one sounds absolutely scrumptious! I think I would have a riot on me if I made these-and I’d be the first in line! 😛

  3. Mama's Gotta Bake 06/12/2011 at 3:49 am #

    That looks perfect for a cold winter’s night. I think my family would love that dish!

    • thelegaltart 06/12/2011 at 9:44 am #

      The leftovers were great with flat bread too. You can mop up all the juices. 🙂

  4. Debra Kolkka 13/12/2011 at 8:27 am #

    This looks absolutely delicious!!! I just have to try it.

    • thelegaltart 14/12/2011 at 8:03 am #

      It is very tasty. I am waiting to try it with scones and cream

Leave a Reply

