Delicious Cajun Inspirations: Dirty Rice with Salmon

20 Nov

Like many people who love food and cooking, I am a bit of a cookbook collector. I have quite a few books and storage of them in my small terrace is becoming a bit of an issue. The excitement of getting  new cookbook is only surpassed by the excitement of a long loved dress going on sale while still stocking my size. I take my books to bed with me and tentatively turn each page with great care and anticipation waiting for the new visual pleasure that awaits me.

My most recent cook book acquisition is Valli Little’s Simply the Best cookbook. Valli, for those of you not in the know is the editor of Delicious magazine and a great cook. Her food is simple but very tasty and I previously have bought her cookbook Faking It which I would highly recommend. I love the Delicious magazine and buy one nearly every month and this new cookbook contains many new original Valli Little recipes. One of the first ones that caught my eye was a recipe for Dirty Rice with Salmon. Dirty rice is a Cajun dish that you can find in New Orleans and other parts of Louisiana. It is packed full with flavour and is slightly spicy. I have never had my Dirty Rice with salmon before, so this recipe provided a different take on a favourite.

I have never made Dirty Rice myself, the ingredient list was longer than I would usually like. I tend to avoid recipes were there are more than half a dozen ingredients, but given the recipe involved largely pre crushed spices, I thought I could manage it without feeling too overwhelmed by having several ingredients on the hop at once.

Rice after all the stock and diced tomatoes have been absorbed

The recipe is packed full of flavour and would make a lovely meal placed at the centre of the table for a casual dinner party. I used roasted capsicum instead of Pimentos and I added a chopped chilli. I couldn’t seem to find black beans anywhere so I had to omit these. Definately add a squeeze of lemon it really makes the dish.

I haven’t included a recipe, but you can find it in the recipe book.  I am sure I will find more recipes from my new love to post soon.

Are you a recipe book fan?

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Delicious Cajun Inspirations: Dirty Rice with Salmon”

  1. kjhebden 18/08/2012 at 7:20 pm #

    I really like the Delicious magazine, Valli Little does some great recipes. I love cookbooks too and my collection keeps growing! I’ve even resorted to putting them on a spreadsheet so I can replace them if they get lost… Hmmm. You’ll find tinned blackbeans in the local Asian grocery store but remember to rinse them well because they are really, really salty. Nice post BTW. Regards J

Leave a Reply

