Saucy Strawberry, Blueberry and Macadamia Crumble

9 Nov

Many of the men I know don’t have a particularly sweet tooth, so I find making dessert for them difficult. I think dessert is an integral, if not the single most important course at lunch or dinner time. I don’t want to go without my sweet end to the meal, so the question becomes do I make the selfish dessert just for me, or engage in some generosity and make something for dessert that may appeal to the boys. The answer depends on whether I am in the mood to share 🙂

What I have discovered, and I do not claim that it is universally true, is that men will often eat desserts that come in a warm saucy form, things like self-saucing puddings and hot apple strudel with custard. With this in mind I endeavoured the other night to make something that would be  satisfying to me and welcomed by the boys. I love the arrival of spring and summer because it means berries. I don’t go much for winter fruits but come summer I can’t get enough of stone fruits and berries. Blueberries and strawberries are in season and ridiculously cheap at the moment. So I decided a strawberry and blueberry crumble was the order of the day.

Saucy and sweet

The liqueur used to macerate the berries acts as both a flavour addition and extra sauce, it isn’t essential but I think it is definitely worth it. I generally believe it is important with desserts like this not to get too stressed about perfection, so don’t get too caught up in making sure all the macadamia’s are chopped to the same size. You are aiming for a more rustic look, so some may be almost whole and others in shards. The macadamia’s add to the crunch and overall texture of the dish. Remember to use a fork when mixing the macadamia’s in to the crumble. If you use a spoon you will compact some of the crumble and fail to get the crunchiness you are after.

One final note. My proportions may not be exactly right. I tend to do things like crumble by sight. Keep adding flour to the butter until you get the rubbly consistency you are after.

Strawberry, Blueberry and Macadamia Crumble

Serves 4 to 6

  • 1 Punnet of strawberries
  • 1 Punnet of blueberries
  • 1/2 cup of Flour
  • 100 gms Cold butter diced
  • 3 tbsp Brown sugar
  • ½ cup Macadamia’s chopped
  • ¼ cup Grand Marnier

Toss berries and Grand Marnier in a bowl. Cover and set aside. Leave for at leat 30 mins

In another bowl place flour and diced butter. Rub butter into the flour using your finger tips until you get a crumbly rubble.

Add macadamia’s to crumble mix and 2 tbsp of brown sugar. Fork through until combined.

Put fruit and any liquid in the baking dish and pour over crumble mix. Top with additional tbsp of sugar.

See the sweet sticky sauces on the outside

Bake in 200 degree oven for 20 mins or until the juice from the fruit can be seen bubbling up the side.

Serve with Ice cream or custard.

What is your favourite type of crumble?

8 Responses to “Saucy Strawberry, Blueberry and Macadamia Crumble”

  1. Hatsie @ TwoRecipes 09/11/2011 at 11:46 pm #

    This looks delish. I’m going to have to try a crumble very soon!

    • thelegaltart 10/11/2011 at 8:26 am #

      Thanks. You have to try one they are very easy.

  2. frugalfeeding 10/11/2011 at 1:03 am #

    Sounds great, though I always associate the taste and smell of macadamias with shampoo as we used to use macadamia nut shampoo 😛

    • thelegaltart 10/11/2011 at 8:28 am #

      I can’t drink malibu because it smells like sun screen to me.

  3. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 10/11/2011 at 12:28 pm #

    Meg I think you might be onto something with the men and saucy puddings thing! I love the look of your crumble 🙂

  4. hotlyspiced 11/11/2011 at 9:39 pm #

    Your pudding looks delicious. I’m not a bloke and I could eat 2 helpings!

Leave a Reply

