Tasty Chicken and Chorizo One Pot Roast

6 Nov

The Parentals have been away in Wangaratta for the Jazz and Blues festival. So after their long journey I decided to cook them dinner, so they would have one less thing to worry about…. Aren’t I just the nicest daughter ever, and modest too! 😉

Last time I cooked for them, it was for Fathers Day. I made a roast chicken with hassle back potatoes and vegetables. Mutti utterly excited about the prospect of being able to have a bone to chew on demolished half the chook, by herself and didn’t eat any of the sides I prepared. I can honestly say that the only time Mutti is silent, is when she is given some carcass to clean. My father and I never ceased to be amazed by her abilities with a pigs trotter or lamb cutlet. She was probably a vulture in a previous life. I did think about doing an entire chicken again, but instead opted for something a little different and infinitely easier to carve, I am terrible at carving.

I love chorizo. I went through a phase where I used to put it in everything. The thing about chorizo is it adds so much flavour to a dish, so you feel like a highly accomplished cook churning out mouth watering perfection when really you just added some spicy sausage to an otherwise simple meal.  Who couldn’t do with some extra spice in their life. 😉  The added bonus is you can enjoy the va va voom of this meal without too many pots and pans to clean afterwards. Satisfying and fuss free!

Given that Dad is man who likes his meals both spicy and saucy and the pan juices would never be sufficient, I added 2 tablespoons of pan juices to some pre prepared gravy I bought at the grocery store, this maintain the flavour profile of the overall dish. I had mine with just the delightful pan juices spooned over the top.

Dinners Up!

Do you like the chew on the bones? Do you need gravy with your meat?

Chicken and Chorizo Roast with Capsicum

Serves 4

  • 4 Chicken Maryland’s
  • 2 chorizo cut into chunky slices
  • 1/2 cup Olive Oil
  • 1 Lemon Juice and zest
  • 2 tsp Oregano
  • 1/4 Cup of Oloroso sherry
  • 1 Capsicum cut into large slices
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • Brown onion quartered in skin

1. Marinade 4 chicken Maryland’s in olive oil, lemon juice, lemon zest,oregano, salt and pepper and for at least 30 mins

2. Chop 2 chorizo in to chunky pieces about 2-3 cm in length.

3. Slice 1 Capsicum into large wedges

4. Place 4 cloves of garlic skin included in dish

5. Place all items in large baking dish and drizzle over half of the marinade

6. Bake for approximately 40 mins

Serve with potatoes and a large green salad.

Crispy Baked Potatoes

10 Responses to “Tasty Chicken and Chorizo One Pot Roast”

  1. chicaandaluza 06/11/2011 at 8:36 pm #

    What a great dish for your parents to come home to. I love one pots! Like your father I enjoy spicy and saucy but also like your Mutti, I like to chomp at the bones! Do hope they enjoyed it 🙂

    • thelegaltart 06/11/2011 at 8:48 pm #

      They did thanks! Less dishes to wash makes everything better!

  2. frugalfeeding 06/11/2011 at 10:51 pm #

    This sounds fantastic. Chicken and chorizo are a match made in heaven – lucky parents.

    • thelegaltart 07/11/2011 at 7:11 am #

      So i keep telling them! Yes just gorgeous together.

  3. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 08/11/2011 at 12:13 pm #

    Definitely someone that loves chewing on bones-I must be a dog or cat! 😛 And you’re right! Adding chorizo adds so much flavour to things! 🙂

  4. Tandy 08/11/2011 at 4:51 pm #

    what a great recipe – all my top ingredients 🙂

  5. Mel 09/11/2011 at 11:03 am #

    Yum, what a treat for your parents, Meg! Chicken & chorizo = such a delicious combo. I love bones and I am getting to love sauce (not traditionally a fan of gravy, but learning)!

    • thelegaltart 09/11/2011 at 11:07 am #

      I don’t get the gravy thing either. This chicken was so moist it didn’t need extra sauce

Leave a Reply

