Lemon, Raspberry and Ricotta Slice

19 Oct

Mutti made a supposedly very delicious lemon ricotta cake the other weekend. I say supposedly because she selfishly made it on a weekend I wasn’t visiting, even though she knows how much I love cake and more specifically lemon cake. I could eat madeira cake just about every day if it wasn’t so hazardous to my hips.

Citrus is one of my most favourite flavours. There is always a lemon or two in my fridge for adding to dishes both savoury and sweet and for whipping up a cocktail when required. Now I could have just continued to pout and threaten parent/child divorce on the grounds of intolerable cruelty. But instead I opted to take the higher ground, have a cocktail and use the other lemons for my own version of a lemon ricotta cake 😛  I would not be dissuaded by Mutti’s blow by blow account of how delicious her version was….not to mention the wonderful crumb, darling did I tell you about the cake  crumb……

So with an afternoon tea on the horizon and an intense desire for lemon cake on my mind, I stumbled upon this recipe in the March 2010 edition of Delicious magazine. Funnily enough it was not one of the recipes that got flagged with a coloured post-it, it is amazing what jealousy and lust can help you see.

The recipe calls for blackberries, but I used raspberries because I simply love their tartness, plus they are easier than blackberries to get frozen. I can’t wait until the fresh ones become a bit more affordable and I can gorge myself on them.  You could probably use blueberries as well if they are more to your liking. But the intense pinky red against the lemon is just too irresistible a combination for me to ignore.

To soothe mutti's neglect.

I did cook the slice for an additional 10 mins beyong the 30 mins called for, but clearly mine was still to soft in the centre and therefore prone to falling apart when I tried to lift the centre pieces out of the tray. I may try a hotter oven next time, mine is tempremental. This slice is definitely not super sweet, so you sweet tooths may not be satisfied. The lemon is intense which I love and the berries tart. I actually liked it better warm, but whether eaten cold or warm it was a dense and moist slice which was demolished with ease and yes the crumb was fantastic! 🙂

Lemon Raspberry and Ricotta Slice

  • 250 gms unsalted butter
  • 250 gms castor sugar
  • 6 free range eggs separated
  • Grated zest and juice of 3 lemons
  • 3/4 cup of plain flour sifted
  • 2 cups of almond meal
  • 350 gms of Ricotta well drained
  • 300 gms of frozen raspberries dusted in 1 tbs of castor sugar and flour
  1. Preheat oven to 170 degrees
  2. Beat together butter and sugar until light and fluffy
  3. add egg yolks one at a time then add zest and juice while beating
  4. Fold in flour and pinch of salt, then fold in the almond meal
  5. In a separate bowl beat egg white until stiff and fold into remainder of the cake mixture
  6. Add ricotta and fork through
  7. Pour into tray and push raspberries into the top of the slice
  8. Bake for 45 minutes or until firm.
  9. Cool completely for slicing

10 Responses to “Lemon, Raspberry and Ricotta Slice”

  1. brittney 19/10/2011 at 11:40 pm #

    That looks so good! I definitely have to try adding berries next time.

    • thelegaltart 20/10/2011 at 8:39 am #

      The berries gave it a very summer feel. Thanks for dropping by

  2. Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge 20/10/2011 at 4:39 am #

    I’ve never made a ricotta cheese cake. Great idea. 🙂
    I love finding new ideas. Looks wonderful.

  3. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 20/10/2011 at 2:53 pm #

    That looks gorgeous! And I like the fact that the lemon is intense in it! 🙂

  4. J.Nelson 21/10/2011 at 7:41 am #

    I love lemon, i love ricotta, i love raspberry…can’t wait to make!

  5. Jessica 27/10/2011 at 2:36 am #

    this looks delicious. love anything with berries and lemon!

    • thelegaltart 27/10/2011 at 9:30 am #

      Yes it is one if my favourite combinations. Thanks for dropping by

Leave a Reply

