Curry Puffs: One handed desk food.

16 Oct

I am a snacker. No two ways about it. 3 meals a day is never going to cut it and in my work eating a good hearty lunch can be almost impossible when running between courtrooms and trying to catch up on work at your desk. For this reason I tend to eat things that can be consumed while typing and take minimum if no prep time. Given that elaborate lunches are not an option and my only diet rule is, know what ingredients you are eating, I can get caught on a treadmill of half eaten Vegemite and cheese sandwiches and organic muesli bars and yoghurt. I decided what I really wanted was some big flavour hitting food to snack on so my taste buds were happy, but I wasn’t putting myself in a position of trying to create a culinary masterpiece in my lunch break.

I saw some great recipes for curry puffs while surfing around online, and while generally not a cooker of indian food…..I think it is all the chopping I hate…. I do know that I won’t be short of flavour with a well spiced curry puff. Most of the curry puff recipes called for minced meat of some sort. I wasn’t that interested in having meat for morning or afternoon tea, so I decided to make a vegetarian version. I used lentils which I happen to love and are also good source of protein. Miss Meat approved of these and helped me eat my way through the batch I made and even Miss Wallflower, although not a lover of indian curry flavours agreed they were tasty. I can in no way claim any sort of authenticity with this recipe, but I know I got the flavour punch and aromatic satisfaction my taste buds were longing for.

What do you like to snack on?

Spiced Lentil Curry Puffs

18 puffs

  • 1 can of lentils ( I used puy lentils because they were on special, if using dry lentils don’t foget to soak before use)
  • 2 small potatoes peeled and cut into small cubes
  • 1 carrot diced
  • 1 onion diced
  • 1 cup of frozen peas
  • Frozen Puff pastry
  • 2 cm of Ginger minced
  • 2 cloves of Garlic minced
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp  groundturmeric
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp of Cardamom Pods
  • salt and pepper to taste

Crush the cardomom pods in a mortar and pestle until the seeds are released. Discard the green shells.

Boil the potatoes and carrots until tender, but still firm. Boil the peas for a couple of minutes so they are tender.

Heat some oil in a pan and fry off the spices until starting to release their aromatic scent.

Add onions and ginger and when the onions start to become soft add the garlic, carrots and potato. Cook for a few minutes until well coated in spices and becoming soft.

Add lentils and stir through until well coated and warmed through, then add peas and turn off the heat.

The colourful combo

The mixture should be soft and slightly sticky but if you think it is too claggy then add a little vegetable stock (1/4 Cup) to loosen it up.

Cut out rounds of pastry.

My fishbowl sized wine glasses serve a dual purpose!

Place a teaspoon of the slightly cooled filling into the centre of the round and brush some beaten egg around the edges before folding the pastry in half to close. This will make a half circle shaped puff. Brush the top with beaten egg. Repeat until all the mixture is used.

Bake in a 200 degree oven for about 10-15 minutes or until puffed up and golden. They can be eaten hot or cold.

5 Responses to “Curry Puffs: One handed desk food.”

  1. Savory Simple 16/10/2011 at 11:45 pm #

    I love this kind of curry. The spices all mix together and the results are flavorful and filling.

  2. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 18/10/2011 at 8:28 pm #

    LOL I like your thinking! “3 meals a day is never going to cut it” is how I often feel! 🙂 One handed food-I’m used to eating that at a computer while doing work!

  3. mytastehistaste 10/11/2011 at 2:48 am #

    I grew up eating curry puffs… The typical Malaysian curry puffs are just like yours, they use lots of potatoes instead of meat. The fancy puffs some times include a quarter of hard boiled egg which I like a lot. I am so going to try making some curry puffs soon! Thanks for the inspiration.

    • thelegaltart 10/11/2011 at 8:31 am #

      I will try egg next time. Never seen that before. 🙂

Leave a Reply

