A Tasty Quickie.

19 Sep

I saw the movie Bridesmaids not long ago on the insistence of my then partner. I wasn’t interested in seeing it, as I thought it would be some inane girly film that I would roll my eyes through, while praying for the arrival of Bruce Willis, to blow stuff up, Die Hard style. But I must confess the film really made me laugh. One of the first scenes that really resonated was in the early part of the film where Annie, the lead character, climbs out of the bed she is sharing with some paramour, creeps to the bathroom, applies some make up, creeps back into bed and pretends to be asleep.  All of this being done to create the illusion that she simply wakes up looking that glossy and refreshed. I have to confess I have engaged in such behaviours and in fact I spend a good portion of my life trying to find ways to make things look fabulous, yet at the same time as if i just threw it together with no effort at all

What?....this old thing

My experience is that the simpler something looks, the harder it is to create. However unlike the search for the perfect lip gloss that makes you look naturally glamorous but not too fake, the simple easy meal that looks and tastes delicious is more attainable.

Last Sunday required a quick, easy and tasty meal. I had returned from a legal seminar raising funds for Sunrise Children’s Villages and was so exhausted that the thought of cooking dinner left me unexcited. I knew I had many little leftovers in my fridge and freezer due to recipes that call for half a can of tomatoes….why do they have to do that?!…. and I thought this was the perfect opportunity to use some of these things up and in the process free up some freezer space, just in case one of my flatmates might actually like to use the freezer 🙂 So I made one of my simple pasta favourites.

You can of course vary the recipe below, I often do. Chorizo is a great addition. It may seem odd that I use two different types of chilli. I find that using both minced chilli and chilli flakes adds different profiles of chilli to the dish, giving flavour and kick without lip numbing heat. If you add Chorizo you will really only need one chilli addition, unless you are after some serious spice.

The measurements below will make 1 generous portion, the only type I like, or two smaller portions. Miss Wallflower declared it yummy and happily scoffed what was left in the pan. Finally laziness equals success.

Do you like chick flicks?

Chilli tomato prawns with Spaghetti

  • Handful of Spaghetti
  • 1 small onion
  • Raw Prawns (I had six peeled with tails intact)
  • ½ cup of pitted olives sliced in half
  • ½ can of tinned cherry tomatoes
  • Whole cherry tomatoes x 4
    (the cherry tomatoes aren’t strictly required but I like some whole
    firmer tomatoes for a bit of variety, plus mine were a bit past their best)
  • 1 tsp Crushed Garlic
  • ½ tsp Crushed chilli
  • Pinch of chilli flakes
  • Tomato paste
  • Fresh Basil Torn
  • White wine
  1. Put a pot of water on to boil
  2. Put 1 tbsp of oil in a pan and when hot add chopped onions.
  3. When onions start to soften add crushed garlic, then crushed chilli. When onions are soft add  white
    wine and reduce to half.
  4. Add cherry tomatoes and a couple of minutes later add tinned tomatoes. Reduce heat to a simmer and add tomato paste and chilli flakes.
  5. The pot of water should be boiling by now and the spaghetti can be added to the water
  6. Add olives, prawns and basil to the sauce. Put the lid on the simmering sauce to allow the prawns to cook. This should take approximately 5 mins. Prawns will be curled up and pink once cooked. Once prawns are cooked check seasoning and adjust as required.
  7. Take a ¼ cup of water out of the pasta pot. Then drain the pasta.
  8. Add pasta and water to the sauce and mix until combined.
  9. Top with parmesan cheese and enjoy!

Dinner Time!

2 Responses to “A Tasty Quickie.”

  1. frugalfeeding 19/09/2011 at 9:47 pm #

    Sounds and looks delicious!

    • thelegaltart 19/09/2011 at 9:53 pm #

      Thanks for the feedback. Hope to see you again!

Leave a Reply

